The work of the Department at Ottawa is performed by 19 divisions, which can be grouped according to their functions into three categories—political, functional and administrative. There are five political divisions—American, Commonwealth, European, Middle Eastern and Far Eastern; ten functional divisions—Communications, Consular, Defence Liaison (1) and (2), Economic, Information, Legal, Historical Research and Reports, Protocol and United Nations; and four administrative divisions—Establishments and Organization, Finance, Personnel, and Supplies and Properties. There are also three smaller sections—Inspection Service, Political Co-ordination Section and the Press Office.

**Department of Finance**.—This Department, created on June 22, 1869, by an Act respecting the Department of Finance (32-33 Vict., c. 4), is under the authority of the Minister of Finance. The Department is responsible for the financial administration of Canada including raising the money required for the various governmental activities by way of taxation or borrowing. The Comptroller of the Treasury, an officer of the Department, is responsible for all Government disbursements.

The work of the Department is organized in seven principal Divisions: Administration, Financial Administration and Accounting Policy, Superannuation, Treasury Board, Taxation, Economic Policy, and International Economic Relations. The Royal Canadian Mint is a branch of the Department and the Inspector General of Banks is an officer of the Department.

The Tariff Board and the Canadian Farm Loan Board are responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.

**Department of Fisheries.**—The Department of Fisheries was first organized under a Minister of Fisheries in 1930. Prior to that date the federal fisheries services were maintained by the former Department of Marine and Fisheries, established in 1868. The provinces, under various arrangements, have certain administrative responsibilities in the fisheries but the legislative authority for the regulations of coastal and freshwater fisheries is with the Federal Department of Fisheries.

The work of the Department includes: conservation and development of the fisheries through the enforcement of fishing regulations, the operation of fish culture establishments, management and improvement of spawning streams and control of predators; inspection of fish products for quality control and the encouragement of industrial development; promotion of the greatest utilization of fishery products and a proper public understanding of the resource and the industry. The Department administers the Fishermen's Indemnity Plan to assist fishermen in the event of loss or serious damage to their fishing vessels or lobster traps.

Agencies connected with the Department are the Fisheries Prices Support Board and the Fisheries Research Board of Canada. The Department is represented on these International Commissions: Pacific Salmon Fisheries, Pacific Halibut, the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries, North Pacific Fisheries, Whaling, and Great Lakes Fisheries, and participates in an international agreement controlling the take of Pribilof seals.

Fisheries Research Board.—The Fisheries Research Board operates under the Fisheries Research Board Act of 1937 (amended in 1947 and 1952-53). It has been active as a fisheries research body since 1898, first as Board of Management of the Canadian Marine Biological Station and later (1912) as the Biological Board of Canada.

The Board operates under the Minister of Fisheries and membership consists of a full-time Chairman and up to 18 members appointed by the Minister from among leading Canadian scientists and businessmen with a knowledge of fishery problems.

The Board operates five biological stations across Canada, four technological stations and two oceanographic groups. It serves as the scientific arm of the Department of Fisheries and its principal objective is to increase the scope and value of Canadian fisheries through scientific research.

**Department of Insurance.**—The Minister of Finance is responsible for the Department of Insurance which originated in 1875 as a branch of the Department of Finance but was constituted a separate Department in 1910. It is authorized and governed by the Department of Insurance Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 70). Under the Superintendent of Insurance, the Department administers the statutes of Canada applicable to: insurance, trust and loan companies incorporated by the Parliament of Canada; provincially incorporated insurance companies registered with the Department; British and foreign insurance companies operating in Canada; small loans companies and money-lenders; and Civil Service insurance.

Under the relevant provincial statutes the Department examines provincial trust companies in the Provinces of Manitoba and New Brunswick and Ioan and trust companies in the Province of Nova Scotia.

International Joint Commission.—This Commission was established under a joint Canada-United States treaty, Jan. 11, 1909, ratified by Canada in 1911. The Commission, composed of six members (three appointed by the President of the United States and three by the Canadian Cabinet) is governed by five specific Articles of the Boundary Waters Treaty of 1909 which include the right of approval of all matters affecting the natural level or flow of boundary waters on either side of the International Boundary and the power to pass on all applications for works contemplated in waters flowing from or in boundary waters which would change the natural level.